Central Valley Flood Protection Board Members Confirmed by State Senate

The Central Valley Flood Protection Board (CVFPB) is pleased to announce Board Vice-President Emma Suarez and Board Members Joseph Countryman, Tim Ramirez, and Clyde Macdonald, re-appointed to four-year terms by Governor Brown, were confirmed by the Senate on August 11, 2016. 

They join President Bill Edgar, Secretary Jane Dolan, and Board Member Michael Villines who were all re-confirmed to four year terms in 2014.  The Board continues to work effectively, making positive changes, for the California Central Valley.

The CVFPB is the State regulatory agency responsible for ensuring that safety standards are met for the construction, maintenance, and operation of the flood control system that protects life, property, and wildlife habitat in California’s vast and diverse Central Valley from the devastating effects of flooding. CVFPB issues encroachment permits and works with local, State and federal agencies to improve the flood protection structures, enforces removal of problematic encroachments, provides an open forum for stakeholders, and keeps watch over the Central Valley’s flood system.

The professional staff is governed by a Board, consisting of seven voting members who are Governor-appointed and Senate confirmed. The Board members bring a unique expertise in the areas of flood control, engineering, water law, and hydrology, as well as the agricultural community and environmental stewardship perspectives, providing a balanced view and discussion of flood management issues.

 “We are pleased to see the re-appointments validate the direction the Board has taken to manage flood risk in the Central Valley. The Board brings vast and specialized knowledge and experience in flood management. We are fortunate to have members of the Board who are dedicated to public safety within the California Central Valley.”

~ Leslie Gallagher, Executive Officer, CVFPB

Button link to Webcast page Button link to Calendar page Button link to Report Button link to storm damage help Button link to storm damage help


Darren Suen has been selected for the Board’s new Policy Advisor position. He performed this function in Acting capacity for the last year, working to raise awareness about the Board’s role in flood management and to advance flood policies that support public safety and provide benefits to the environment and agriculture communities. Prior, Darren was the Department of Water Resources serving as Program Lead and Policy Advisor for the Assistant Division Chief of the Flood Management Division and the Deputy Director in Flood Operations Center during flood emergencies. Darren has a long career in program management and flood control, working in private, State, and federal agencies. Currently, he also serves as a member of the Elk Grove City Council. Congratulations to Darren!

Michael Wright has been selected to fill the Chief Engineer position beginning April 2, 2019. Michael has been with the Board since 2011. During his tenure, Michael has held multiple supervisory positions, including Enforcement Section Chief, Acting Operations Branch Chief, and Plan Implementation and Compliance Branch Chief. For the past eight months, he has been filling the Chief Engineer role. Congratulations, Michael Wright.