Contact Us

Central Valley Flood Protection Board Members: For questions about Central Valley Flood Protection Board Members, contact Ryan Jones at:, or Amber Woertink at Both can be reached by phone at (916) 574-0609.

Central Valley Flood Protection Board Staff: Please address your questions about specific Board issues to the Section and staff person below. For general questions about Central Valley Flood Protection Board activities, please call us at (916) 574-0609, or e-mail us at

Mailing Address: Please address written inquiries and application submissions to:

Central Valley Flood Protection Board
3310 El Camino Avenue, Suite 170
Sacramento, California  95821


Executive Office

Leslie Gallagher
Executive Officer

(916) 574-0609

General Counsel

Kanwarjit (Jit) Dua
Board’s General Counsel

(916) 574-0609

Engineering & Technical Support

Michael Wright
Chief Engineer

(916) 574-0698

Operations Branch Chief



Greg Harvey
Acting Plan Implementation and Compliance Branch Chief

(916) 574-0454

Andrea Buckley
Environmental Services and Land Management Branch Chief

(916) 574-0332

Gary Lemon
Permitting Section Chief

(916) 574-0649

Angeles Caliso
Enforcement Section Chief

(916) 574-2384

Preston Shopbell
Inspection Branch Chief

(916) 574-1437

Elizabeth Oliphint
Permitting Analyst

(916) 574-1302


Administrative Branch

Kathryn Baines
Chief of Administration

(916) 574-1723

Amber Woertink
HR/AO Assistant

(916) 574-0675

Ryan Jones
Exec. Analyst/Board Clerk

(916) 574-0699


Button link to Webcast page Button link to Calendar page Button link to Report Button link to storm damage help Button link to storm damage help Button link to Fees


Darren Suen has been selected for the Board’s new Policy Advisor position. He performed this function in Acting capacity for the last year, working to raise awareness about the Board’s role in flood management and to advance flood policies that support public safety and provide benefits to the environment and agriculture communities. Prior, Darren was the Department of Water Resources serving as Program Lead and Policy Advisor for the Assistant Division Chief of the Flood Management Division and the Deputy Director in Flood Operations Center during flood emergencies. Darren has a long career in program management and flood control, working in private, State, and federal agencies. Currently, he also serves as a member of the Elk Grove City Council. Congratulations to Darren!

Michael Wright has been selected to fill the Chief Engineer position beginning April 2, 2019. Michael has been with the Board since 2011. During his tenure, Michael has held multiple supervisory positions, including Enforcement Section Chief, Acting Operations Branch Chief, and Plan Implementation and Compliance Branch Chief. For the past eight months, he has been filling the Chief Engineer role. Congratulations, Michael Wright.